Parliament’s Disaster Committee starts monitoring relief operations

Lalitpur, May 16: Lawmakers in the National Disaster Management, Monitoring and Directive Committee have begun monitoring the relief distribution operations today onwards from Lalitpur to begin with.

The 73-member Committee was formed by the Legislature-Parliament on May 13 under the chairmanship of Speaker Subas Chandra Nembang.

Today’s monitoring team, comprising lawmakers from various political parties as Nepali Congress, CPN (UML) and UCPN (Maoist) among others took stock of the relief operations being carried out in Constituency number 1 and 3 of Lalitpur district.

According to Pashupatinath Pokharel, Local Development Officer of Lalitpur, the lawmakers today inspected Champi, Chapagaun and Jharuwarashi situated in the constituency -1and Bungmati, Thaiba and Harisiddhi in constituency-3 and talked the quake-hit persons to see if they were receiving adequate relief materials and facilities ensured by the State.

The locals on the occasion requested the monitoring lawmakers to make available temporary shelters to them than food items. They were in want of zinc corrugated sheets rather the tarpaulin, according to lawmaker Yogendra Ghising.

Today’s monitoring was in a bid to the Committee’s decision to deploy at least four lawmakers and a group of staffers of the Legislature-Parliament Secretariat in each of the 14 hardest-hit district from May 15 for the monitoring of the relief operations.