ACORAB elects Subash Khatiwada as its new chairperson

KATHMANDU, Jan 7: Subash Khatiwada has been elected new chairperson of The Association of Community Radio Broadcasters Nepal (ACORAB) on Saturday.
The association appointed a new 21-member committee in its 12th General Assembly and Sixth Convention headed by Khatiwada. In the election held today morning, he gathered 142 votes to become the new chairman defeating his rival Kishor Jung Thapa who amassed 132 votes.
Meanwhile, Arjun Giri has been elected senior vice chairperson who collected 140 votes defeating his opponent Hom Pathak who managed 132 votes. Govinda Devkota, who defeated his competitor Pitambar Sigdel garnering 136 votes, has been elected as General Secretary. Bandana Danuwar and Laxman Khadka have been elected Secretary and Treasurer respectively.
Likewise, Shashikala Dahal has been elected another vice chairperson from women’s quota. Nimesh Karna has been elected vice chairperson from Madhes and Arjun Kumar Rai from indigenous group quota. In dalit quota Bhuwan Singh has been elected vice chairperson.