RPP decides on candidates to all municipalities in Jhapa


BHADRAPUR, May 16: The Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has already picked its candidates at all the municipalities in Jhapa district who will be contesting in the second-phase local-level election taking place there on June 14.

Accordingly, Nawaraj Paneru has been picked for the mayoral post and Radha Karki for the post of deputy mayor in Bhadrapur Municipality; Ashok Subba for the post of mayor and Sabina Bajgain for the post of deputy-mayor in Mechinagar Municipality; Kedar Giri for mayor and Chitra Shrestha for deputy mayor in Kankai Municipality; and Umanath Dahal for mayor and Roji Luintel for deputy-mayor in Shivasatakshi Municipality.

Similarly, Ram Thapa is the mayoral candidate and Rita Shrestha the deputy mayor candidate in Damak Municipality; Chhabi Lal Lamsal is the mayoral candidate in Arjundhara Municipality. The candidate for deputy mayor is not yet picked in this municipality while Amar Bahadur Bista is the mayoral candidate for Gauradaha Municipality. The deputy-mayoral candidate is yet to be decided for this municipality, according to RPP general secretary Rajendra Lingden.

Meanwhile, the RPP has fielded all women candidates in Birtamod Municipality -1. It has fielded Bhakti Sitaula to contest for the post of mayor and Laila Anamol for the post of deputy-mayor of Birtamod Municipality. RSS