Elected representatives in Bharatpur metropolis to be sworn in today



CHITWAN, Aug 6: The elected representatives in Bharatpur Metropolitan City will be administered the oath of office at 3:00 pm today.

Two of them—one being elected chairperson at ward 4 Hari Acharya and another chairperson at ward 7 Rajendra Mani Kafle–will not be sworn in however as their defeated rivals have lodged a complaint with Hetauda bench of High Court, Patan, dissatisfied with poll results.

Following this, the court on June 4 had in its verdict directed concerned authority not to administer the oath of office to the two elected representatives. The metropolis mayor Renu Dahal, deputy mayor Parbati Shah, 27 ward chairpersons and 27 ward members will be sworn in.

The elections were held in the metropolis in the first phase on May 14. However, the Election Commission had ordered a re-poll in the metropolis following the findings of torn ballot papers with votes during the count. The re-election was held on August 4 following the verdict of the Supreme Court in this regard where the matter had landed challenging the direction of the EC. RSS