NCP selects new Governors

NCP Secretariat Meeting

KATHMANDU, Nov 4: A day after relieving the previous Governors from their official duties and position, the current ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has finalized the names for new Governors to take over.

At the party secretariat meeting held today the names of Amik Sherchan, Som Nath Adhikari, Tilak Pariyar, Dharma Nath Yadav, Govinda Kalauni, Bishnu Prasain, and Sharmila Tripathi has been finalized to take over as new Governors.

The Cabinet meeting that will be held today will decide on the allotment of Provinces and confirm the list.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari on the recommendations of the decision taken by the Cabinet had relieved the previous Governors who were appointed under the government of Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Prof (DR) Govind Bahadur Tumbahang, Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha, Anuradha Koirala, Babu Ram Kunwar, Uma Kanta Jha, Durga Keshar Khanal, and Mohan Raj Malla were relieved from their duties, and the decision came under heavy criticism from the opposition.

The President in line with Article 165 (1)b of the Consitution had made such a move acting on the recommendation of the Cabinet under NCP.

(File Photo)