Newly appointed Governors administered oath of office and secrecy

President appoint new governors

KATHMANDU, Nov 5: The newly appointed government of all seven provinces have taken the oath of office and secrecy.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new governors at Sital Niwas amid a special function on Tuesday.

President Bhandari, in a surprise move, upon the recommendation of the government, had sacked all seven governors appointed by the previous government led by Sher Bahadur Deuba on Sunday.

A day after sacking the governors, a cabinet meeting, shortly after the ruling Nepal Communist Party finalized new names, had recommended the President to appoint the new governors.

Bhandari appointed Somnath Adhikari as the governor of Province 1, Tilak Pariyar as the governor of Province 2, Bishnu Prasain as the governor of  Province 3, Amik Sherchan as the governor of Gandaki Province, Dharmanath Yadav as the governor of Province 5, Govinda Kalauni as the governor of Karnali Province, and Sharmila Tripathi and the governor of Sudur Paschim Province.