Nepal Communist Party

KATHMANDU, May 17: A joint committee meeting of CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Center, comprising of top leaders, have approved the draft statute of the new party, according to the reports.

The two ruling parties will, now, register their newly formed party at the Office of the Election Commission, Jamal before organizing a press conference at Rastriya Sabha Griha to announce their unification.

Earlier, a party unification coordination committee meeting had endorsed the statute prepared by a joint task force.

The coordination committee meeting has also decided to form a nine-member secretariat of the unified party.

A meeting between chairs of both the parties—K P Sharma Oli (UML) and Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ (Maoist Center)—on Wednesday morning agreed to seal the unification deal, and announce the merger on Thursday coinciding with the 25th death anniversary of UML leaders Madan Kumar Bhandari and Jibaraj Ashrit, who were killed when a jeep carrying both of them plunged into Trishuli river 25 years ago.

According to the agreement, the new unity party will be named ‘Nepal Communist Party’, the new party will be guided ideologically by the philosophy of Marxist–Leninist and on political line, People’s Democracy will be adopted and leadership of the new party will be shared alternatively.

The new party will have 441-member central committee (241 members from the UML and 200 from the Maoist Center).

Likewise, it will have a 43-member standing committee with 25 representatives from the UML and 18 from the Maoist Center. The party will have ‘Sun’ as its electoral symbol, the one the UML has been using for long.

सम्बन्धित शीर्षकहरु

ताजा अपडेट