Newly elected National Assembly Chair waves after officially being announced to the post after the meeting of the NA members at the federal parliament building in New Baneshwor, Kathmandu on Wednesday, March 14, 2018. Photo: RSS

KATHMANDU, March 14: CPN-UML’s Ganesh Prasad Timalsina has been officially elected as the Chairperson of National Assembly (NA).

Senior- most NA member Tara Devi Bhatta officially announced Timalsina’s election to the post unopposed at Wednesday’s NA meeting held at the Federal Parliament Building, New Baneshwor.

Timalsina had filed his candidacy for the position of NA Chair on March 12. As he was the sole candidate to file nomination, he was already elected to the position unopposed.

Timilsana’s candidacy was proposed by UML’s Khimlal Bhattarai, and seconded by CPN (Maoist Center)’s Suman Raj Pyakurel and Dinanath Sharma.

The election date for NA’s Vice Chair has been set for March 18. The NA shall meet again at 3 pm on March 16. The 59-member NA functions as the upper house of Nepal’s bicameral federal parliament.

सम्बन्धित शीर्षकहरु

ताजा अपडेट