Paras and Ganga win title of best players of the year

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Sports Journalists Forum has honored the best players of the year with the Pulsar Sports Award-2069 on Tuesday.

The best players in eight different categories and coaches were honored at a function today.

Cricketer Paras Khadka was awarded the best male player of the year. Nepal team under the captaincy of Khadka had won ICC World Cricket League Division-4 and ACC Cricket Elite Trophy.

Likewise, Ganga Devi Adhikari, a karate player, was awarded the best woman player of the year. She had won three gold medals in international events in 2069 B.S. Both of them got each Pulsar motorcycle.

Wushu player Jharana Gurung bagged popular player of the year. She had won the bronze medal in 56 kg weight category in the Eighth Asian Wushu Championship held in Vietnam.

Likewise, Bikram Bahadur Rana of Nepal Army bagged the title of Para-athlete Champion. Armyman Rana had lost his both eyes during the insurgency period.

Coach of national cricket team Pubudu Dassanayake was declared the best coach of the year.

The para-athlete and players winning Lifetime Achievement, the best player of the year, the youth player and the best trainer awards bagged Rs 50,000 each along with the titles.