PHSC endorses all nominees for Justices

KATHMANDU, MAY 26 – The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) on Monday endorsed all the eight names recommended by the Judicial Council (JC) for for the permanent judgeship of the Supreme Court.

The Parliamentary Hearing Special committee decided to settle the controversy over the nominees for SC justices through a clandestine voting after the hearing committee members remained divided over the appointment of the recommend judge s. Earlier NC wants to endorse all nominees for the Justice recommended by the Judicial Council.

Amongst the eight nominees, Baidhyanath Upadhyay and Om Prakash Mishra were unanimously endorsed by the lawmakers while Cholendra Shumsher Rana and Dipak Raj Joshi received 24 and 25 no-votes respectively.