Sports journalists felicitated with Sports Journalism Awards

Kathmandu, May 29. Nepal South Asian Sports Journalist Association has felicitated four sports journalists amid a function in Kathmandu on Wednesday.

Ghatana Ra Bichar’s Shree Bikram Bhandari and Kantipur Daily’s Himesh Ratna Bajracharya were honoured with the best Late Ishwor Man Singh Sports Journalism Award 2014. Both journalists received Rs 25,000 each along with the letter of appreciations.

Earlier, Roshan Rawat of Annapurna Post and Rajendra Chitrakar of Gorkhapatra were honoured with the same Journalism Award in the last edition.

Similarly, Nepal Television’s Raju Silwal received the Best Sports Journalism Award while Gorkhapatra’s Prajit Shakya was honoured with the Best Chess Journalism Award.

With the award, both Silwal and Shakya received Rs 8,000 each and letter of appreciation. Last year, Binod Pandey of Nagarik and Manoj Ghimire of Sourya were feted with those respective awards.

Sports Journalism Award is sponsored by Nepal Olympic Museum and Chess  Journalism Award by Nepal Chess Association. Minister for Youth and Sports Purushottam Poudel handed over the awards to the best sports journalists.