Government promotes 11 DIGs; excludes Silwal

Rabindra Adhikari

KATHMANDU, Aug 3: The government has promoted 11 Deputy Inspectors General (DIGs) of Nepal to the post of Additional Inspectors General (AIGs).

A cabinet meeting held on Thursday promoted DIGs Bam Bahadur Bhandari, Devendra Subedi, Pashupati Upadhyay, Keshariraj Ghimire, Madhav Prasad Joshi, Bijay Lal Kayastha, Kamal Singh Bam, Mingmar Lama, Rana Bahadur Chand and Bijay Kumar Bhattarai including Jaya Bahadur Chand.

Chand was promoted to Inspector General of Police (IGP) by the Pushpa Kamal Dahal led government but was annulled by the Supreme Court (SC) after Nawaraj Silwal filed a writ petition against the cabinet’s decision.

Meanwhile, the government has ruled out DIG Nawaraj Silwal from the promotion list as his writ in sub-judice at the SC.