Federal, Province assemblies polls to be held in 32 districts in first phase

Supreme Court, Election Commission, Election of House of Representatives and Province Assembly

KATHMANDU, Sept 1: The Election Commission (EC) has announced the election scheduled for upcoming federal and province level elections to be held in the two phases.

The EC has announced to hold the polls for federal and province level polls in 32 districts in the first phase on November 26 and the polls in remaining 45 districts would be held on December 7.

EC’s spokesperson Nabaraj Dhakal said that the polls would be held in 32 districts of mountain and high-hill on November 26 while the 45 districts of hills and Tarai on December 7 and added that the decision was made by considering the geographical location.

The government has already decided to hold the polls in the two phases.

Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga, Taplejung, Panchthar and Khotang districts of Province No. 1 while Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Sindhupalchowk, Dolakha and Ramechhap districts of Province No. 2 would elect the representatives in the first phase.

Similarly, other districts having the elections in the first phase include Mustang, Myagdi, Baglung, Manang, Lamjung and Gorakha of Province No. 4 and Rukum (eastern part) and Ropla of Province No. 5 as well as Rukum (western part), Jajarkot, Humla, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot and Dolpa of Province No. 6.

Likewise, the elections to the province level and federal level would be held in Darchula, Bajhang, Bajura and Baitadi of Province No. 7 in the first phase.

Remaining other districts shall have the polls in the second phase on December 7.

The EC has again requested the government to provide the election-related legislation as early as possible for holding the province level and federal level polls. It has also expressed its commitment to hold the elections in a free and fair manner in the given date and thanked the government for announcing the polls dates. RSS