Deuba preparing to sack Maoist Ministers

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, cabinet expansion, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Kamal Thapa

KATHMANDU, Oct 5: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is preparing to release the ministers representing CPN (Maoist Center), sources confirmed.

PM Deuba after consulting with the top leaders of parties of NC-led alliance and with lawyers about the recent political developments, Deuba is now set to sack the Maoist ministers.

Even after sacking the Maoist leaders, Deuba will still have support of different parties for 297 lawmakers. According to the constitution, a government requires 297 votes to be formed.

Currently, the NC-led alliance has 300 lawmakers. Among which, NC has 207, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Democratic have 37, Rastriya Janta Party Nepal has 24, Nepal Loktantrik Forum has 17 and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has 15 lawmakers.

Deuba’s move comes following the three leftist parties CPN-UML, Maoist Center and Naya Shakti Party formally announced electoral alliance (for the upcoming elections of House of Representatives and State Assemblies) and unity process after the election.

Responding to the move of the main opposition party’s move to forge leftist alliance, Nepali Congress initiated a process for broad democratic alliance. And, six parties agreed to join NC-alliance.

Meanwhile, the current ruling partner of NC, MC will keep supporting the incumbent Deuba-led government till the next elections scheduled for November 26 and December 7. The opposition UML has also said that it would support the current government for elections’ sake.