PM Deuba prepares for Cabinet expansion; Thapa to become DPM

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, cabinet expansion, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Kamal Thapa

KATHMANDU, Oct 13: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is all set to expand his cabinet inducting eight ministers from Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP).

PM Deuba has alredy sent a letter to the Office of the President on Friday in connection with expanding the Council of Ministers, according to Baluwatar sources.

A letter recommending RPP chairman Kamal Thapa to the post of Deputy Prime Minister and leaders Jayanta Chand, Dilnath Giri and Bikram Thapa as ministers in the present Council of Ministers has been sent to the  president, according to the Prime Minister’s private secretariat.

Similarly, Kunti Kumari Shahi, Sushil Kumar Shrestha, Bhaskar Bhadra and Kanta Bhattarai have been recommended as Ministers of State.

The Office of the President stated that although the program for administering the oath of office and secrecy to the nominees has been said to be held on Saturday, it was not yet fixed.