702 candidates get election symbols

Election Commission, separate ballot papers, Election to the House of Representatives, Election to the Province Assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav

KATHMANDU, Oct 25: The Election Commission has allocated the election symbols to 702 candidates fielded for the elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies being held on November 26.

EC Spokesperson Nabaraj Dhakal informed that the candidacies of 100 persons were withdrawn while a candidacy got scrapped.

A total of 803 candidacies were filed from 32 districts from the mountainous and upper hilly region are having the elections on November 26.

The symbols were provided from the offices of the chief election officers and election officers.

Of the total candidates, 481 are vying for provincial assembly seats and 322 for central parliament. The first phase of elections will elect 37 members for the central parliament and 74 for province assembly.

Dissatisfied with the official candidates of their parties, some leaders of Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) had filed their candidacy independently. But most of them withdrew their candidacy following pressure from their respective political parties.