NC Makwanpur not to support Thapa; add more rift in democratic alliance

Democratic alliance, Nepali Congress Makwanpur, Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chair Kamal Thapa, Indra Bahadur Baniya, Makwanpur Constituency No 1, Jhapa Constituency No 3, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Rajendra Lingden

KATHMANDU, Oct 31: Nepali Congress Makwanpur has decided not to support Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chair Kamal Thapa in Makwanpur Constituency No 1.

Nepali Congress Makwanpur, concluding that the party has stronghold in the constituency, has decided not to support Thapa—which has added further rift in the democratic alliance.

Thapa had announced his candidacy to contest the Federal parliamentary elections in Makwanpur-1 under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) category in agreement with NC. But Nepali Congress District Committee has refused the alliance while pushing district President and former lawmaker Indra Bahadur Baniya in the constituency. It may be noted that NC had won the constituency in the second Constitution Assembly Election in 2013.

Meanwhile, Nepali Congress leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula and RPP’s Rajendra Lingden does not seem ready to compromise for Jhapa Constituency No 3 inciting further conflict within the Democratic alliance.

Earlier, NC had agreed to support Lingden in the constituency while enlisting Sitaula following the proportional representation (PR) category. Later the party had withdrawn his candidacy under PR category and decided to run him for FPTP.

Following which, RPP had also decided to run Lingden for FPTP category from the same constituency.