UML’s Khanal, Nembang victorious in Ilam


ILAM, Dec 10: CPN-UML’s candidates, former Prime Minister Jhala Nath Khanal and former House Speaker Subash Nembang has emerged victorious in Ilam constituency 1 and 2 respectively.

Khanal defeated Bhupendra Kattel of Nepali Congress with almost double vote margin. He garnered 36,807 votes while Kattel only scored 19,637 votes.

Likewise, Nembang garnered 36,514 votes to secure his seat in federal parliament. He defeated Nepali Congress candidate Keshav Thapa who only got 26,860 votes.

Similarly, in Ilam Province Assembly elections, UML’s Khinu Langwa Limbu secured his victory in Ilam-1 ‘A’ with 18,686 votes. He defeated his Nepali Congress rival Devendra Kumar Rai.