21 parties registered for National Assembly polls

National Assembly Election

KATHMANDU, Jan 12: A total of 21 political parties have been registered in the Election Commission (EC) for the National Assembly elections, according to the EC.

The 21 parties have been registered until January 12, the last date for the process, said the EC’s Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal.

The listed parties include CPN-UML, Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, Nepal Federal Socialist Party, Nepal Workers Peasants Party, Federal Democratic National Manch, Bahujan Shakti Party, Nepal Pariwar Dal, Rastriya Janamorcha, Nepal Naulo Janawadi, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) and Bibeksheel Sajha Party.

According to Dhakal, the political parties registered in the EC for the National Assembly elections include Naya Shakti Party Nepal, Nepal Dalit Party, Rastriya Janata Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Bahujan Samajbadi Party, Gandhibadi Party Nepal, Nepali Janata Dal, and Rastriya Mukti Andolan Nepal Party.

Fifty-six members will be elected in the National Assembly with equal eight members from each province. Three will be nominated by the President.