Presidential election underway

Presidential election

Narayan Neupane
KATHMANDU, March 13:
All Provincial Assemblies members including Chief Minister, Speaker and ministers, and Federal Parliament members are present as the voting for presidential election is underway in the Federal Parliament Building in Baneshwor.

The country went to polls for presidential election for three times including this one after it turned into the Federal Democratic Republic nine years ago constitutionally. In between two elections of President were held.

Incumbent President Bidya Devi Bahdari, a new presidential candidate backed by the left coalition (ruling CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) is running for the second consecutive term in office. Likewise, former lawmaker Kumari Laxmi Rai backed by the main opposition Nepali Congress is her competitor for the coveted position.

A total of 880 members of the Federal Parliament (House of Representatives and National Assembly) and Provincial Assemblies will cast their ballot in the elections (549 provincial assembly members, and 331 parliamentary members).

The voting began at 10 am and will run until 3 pm today.

Separate polling centers have been set up for Federal Parliament and Provincial Assemblies members. Likewise, separate lines have been arranged for male and female voters.