Prez Bhandari confers awards



KATHMANDU, Sept 4: President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Tuesday has conferred medals, awards, decoration and honors on 345 personalities, living or dead, from different walks of life in recognition of their contributions to the country.

The announcement was made on Republic Day 2074 BS. The awards were presented in a program organized by the Ministry of Home Affairs at the office of the President, Sheetal Niwas.

The Nepal Ratna Bibhushan has been conferred on former Prime Minister BP Koirala (posthumously). The Bibhushan was received by his grandson Siddhartha Koirala.

Similarly, the Rastriya Gaurav Bibhushan has been presented to politician Mahendra Narayan Nidhi (posthumously). The Bibhushan was received by his son Bimalendra Nidhi.

Likewise, Mahaujjwal Rastradeep Bibhushan has been conferred on Seikh Idrish (posthumously), Nona Koirala (posthumously), Amik Sherchan (Chitwan), Barman Budha (Rolpa) and Ram Kumari Yadav (Dhanusha). Mohammad Aftap Alam had received the award on the behalf of Idrish while Dr Shekhar Koirala on the behalf of Nona.

General Secretary at the Federal Parliament Manohar Prasad Bhattarai has been presented the Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep Bibhushan.

Similarly, six persons were awarded with Prasiddha Prabal Jana Sewa Shree. They are Gopal Prasad Parajuli (former Chief Justice), Ishwari Prasad Khatiwada (Justice), Deep Basnyat (former Commissioner-CIAA), Umesh Mainali (Chairperson, Public Service Commission), Rajendra Chettri (Chief of Army Staffs, Nepal Army) and Lok Darshan Regmi (Chief Secretary).

Likewise, Sukirtimaya Rastradeep Bibhushan was conferred on 21 personalities. They are Nabin Kumar Ghimire (Commissioner-CIAA), Shreepurush Dhakal (Member of Public Service Commission), Pro Dr Tirtha Khaniya (Vice-Chancellor of TU), Prof Dr Ram Kantha Makaju (Vice-Chancellor of Kathmandu University), Prof Chiranjivi Sharma (Vice-Chancellor, Pokhara University), Prem Kumar Rai (Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs), Mahendra Man Gurung (Secretary, Ministry of Communications, Information and Technology), Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya (Secretary, Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration) and Dr Tahir Ali Ansari (former Justice of Supreme Court).

The awardees also include Ashesh Malla (artist), Purna Chandra Thapa (Office of Chief of General Staff-Nepal Army), Prakash Aryal (former Inspector General of Nepal Police), Singh Bahadur Shrestha (former Inspector General of Armed Police Force), Shailendra Khanal (Inspector General of Armed Police Force), Ishwar Hamal (Major General, Nepal Army), Rabindra Chettri (honorary Major General, Rastriya Sewa Dal), Yadav Prasad Koirala (Administrative Officer, Kathmandu Metropolitan City), Bhesh Narayan Dahal (Director General, Department of Archaeology), Dr Ram Dayal Rakesh (Litterateur, Sarlahi), and Pradeep Kumar Rai ‘Byakul Maila’ (Litterateur, Okhaldunga).

Present in the event were Vice-President, Prime Minister, Speaker of House, Chairperson of National Assembly, Ministers, Chief of the constitutional bodies and VIPs among others. RSS