Tikapur massacre accused Resham Chaudhary and ten others sentenced to life imprisonment

Resham Chaudhary

KATHMANDU, March 6: Kailali District Court has sentenced the main suspects of 2015 Tikapur massacre, lawmaker Resham Lal Chaudhary and ten others to life imprisonment.

A single bench of Justice Parshuram Bhattarai gave the verdict on Wednesday, which also sentence Tharu activists Laxman Tharu and eleven others with three years in jail. Tharu, who has already served his three years term, is set to be released today. 32 more suspects of Tikapur incident are still at large.

On August 24, 2015 armed protesters affiliated with the Tharuhat Struggle Committee had attacked security force attempting to enforce restrictions with axes, scythes and spears in Tikapur, Kailali killing eight, including seven police officers and a two-year old baby.

Rastriya Janata Party Nepal candidate Chaudhary, who won the House of Representative election from Kailali constituency 1filing his candidacy through a representative held on December 7, 2017, had surrendered himself to the Kailali District Court on February 26 last year.

Chaudhary had taken oath of office and secrecy on January 3 while his case was still sub-judice in the court. After swearing-in, he was taken back to the Central Jail at Dilli Bazar from the parliament.

Chaudhary will automatically lose his position as lawmakers . According to law, people convicted of crimes by a court cannot be lawmakers

Also Read:

Tikapur massacre suspect Resham Lal Chaudhary surrenders to court

Resham Chaudhary takes oath as lawmaker

RJPN draws govt’s attention toward meeting Chaudhary’s demand