‘Lumbini’ proposed as new name of Province 5


BUTWAL, Dec 16: A special committee formed to suggest the name and the capital of Province 5 has proposed ‘Lumbini’ as the new name of the province.

The committee has also forwarded the three names: Sainamaina, Buddhabhumi and Bhalubang-Lamahi as the possible capital cities of the province.

A meeting of the Council of Ministers held in January last year had declared ‘Butwal’ as the interim state capital until Province Assembly names a new one.

But, due to the row over whether fix Dang or Rupendehi as the capital even among the lawmakers of the ruling Nepal Communist Party has delayed in finalizing the name.

Although the new constitution establised Province 5 as one of the seven federal provinces four years ago, names of only three provinces (Karnali, Suderpaschim, Gandaki) have been finalized so far.