NC Debacle, NCP wins thumping majority in National Assembly by-polls

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) won a resounding victory in the National Assembly elections held earlier yesterday.

According to the results declared by the Election Commission, Province 1, Bagmati, Province 5, Gandaki, Karnali and Far Western Province have been won by the NCP.

In Province 2, the coalition of  Rashtriya Janata Party Nepal ( National People’s Party Nepal) and the ruling NCP candidate won the seat.

Main opposition Nepali Congress Party (NC) failed to win a seat. In Province 2 the coalition between Samajwadi Party and NC lost to the ruling coalition. A total of 6 political parties had declared candidates but only two parties were successful in winning the Assembly seat.

A total of 18 seats in the 7 provinces were up for election, and the results were declared late evening.

Province 1

Indira Gautam NCP

Gopi Bahadur Sarki Acchami – NCP

Devendra Dahal – NCP

Province 2

Tulsa Dahal – NCP

Radhe Shyam Paswan -NCP

Shekhar Singh – NPP ( RAJPA)

Mrigendra Kumar Singh Yadav -NPP (RAJPA)


Bagmati Province

Beduram Bhusal – NCP

Ganga Belbase – NCP


Gandaki Province

Narayan Kaji Shrestha – NCP

Bhagwati Neupane – NCP


Province 5

Bimala Ghimire -NCP

Jag Prasad Sharma -NCP

Gopal Bhattarai -NCP


Karnali Province

Mayaprasad Sharma -NCP

Sumitra BC – NCP


Sudurpaschim Province

Taraman Swar -NCP

Sharda Bhatta – NCP