CC unchanged on appointees’ name in election commission

Nepal New Prime Minister

KATHMANDU: The Constitutional Council (CC) on Saturday snubbed President Dr Ram Baran Yadav’s call to review the name of nominees at the Election Commission (EC).

Earlier, the President had sent back the name list to the CC stating that whether the reappointment of the former election commissioners was constitutional citing article 128 of the Interim Constitution of Nepal.

Chairman of the Interim Election Council of Minister Khil Raj Regmi is the chief of the CC. The CC meeting held on Saturday stood adamant in its earlier decision to reappoint Nil Kantha Uprety as Chief Election Commissioner and Dolakh Bahadur Gurung and Dr Ayodhi Prasad Yadav as the commissioner.

The SC had recommended the name of Upreti, Gurung, Yadav, Ram Bhakta PV Thakur and Ila Sharma to the President for final appointment based on the suggestion offered by the high-level political mechanism.