Nagendra Kumal elected chair of Nefin

CHITWAN: The eighth general convention of Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities (Nefin) concluded by electing Nagendra Kumal as the chairman and Pemba Gurung as the general secretary for the coming three years. Kumal defeated his nearest rival Chandra Bikram Rai by securing 32 votes of the total 53.

Similarly, the convention held at Sauraha of Chitwan elected Ram Awatar Mandal from Tarai region, Dandu Sherpa from mountainous region, Surya Bahadur Bhujel from hilly region, Tapiya Darai from inner Tarai and Roshni Meche from women as the vice-chairpersons of the Nefin.

Jagat Bahadur Baram was elected treasurer while Yam Bahadur Chepang, Ganesh Lal Thakali, Dhyani Urab, Chinimaya Majhi and Yeshodha Chaudhary were elected secretaries.

The three-day general convention was concluded by issuing a 30-point Sauraha Declaration.