Nepal political parties reach deal to end impasse

Nepal's senior politicians of major political parties.

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s eight major political parties have reached a four point deal on ending the ongoing political impasse.
The deal signed by major political parties including the Nepali Congress, CPN UML and the UCPN Maoist agreed to form a parliamentary commission to address all accusations raised against CA polls rigging, to prepare a preliminary draft of the constitution as envisioned in the CPA, interim constitution and the erstwhile CA, within six months and promulgate the new constitution within a year, to form a high level joint political committee with representatives from the three major parties and to form the all transitional justice mechanisms including the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Similarly the parties also agreed to forward the names of Prorportional Represesntatives to the Election Commmission on the basis of the votes parties received in the CA polls within December 30.
The agreement was signed by NC President Sushil Koirala, CPN UML Chairman Jhalnath Khanal, UCPN Maoist Puspa Kamal Dahal, MJF-D President Bijay Kumar Gachhadar, TMLP President Mahant Thakur, MJF-Nepal leader Bharat Bimal Yadav, Sadbhavana Party’s Rajendra Yadav and TMSP’s President Mahendra Rai Yadav.

Earlier today, a meeting of the senior leaders of NC, UML and UCPN-M had decided to reach four points of agreement and called a meeting of all major political parties to sign the agreement and bail the country out of political uncertainty.