West Indies win toss, will bat 1st vs India at World Cup

PERTH, Australia, March 6: West Indies won the toss and batted first in a World Cup Pool B match against India at the WACA ground on Friday.

While India remains unbeaten in the tournament, the West Indies goes into the game following a 257-run defeat to South Africa in its last match.

India made one change to the side that beat United Arab Emirates at the WACA last weekend, replacing swing bowler Bhuvneshawar Kumar with Mohammed Shami.

The Caribbean side strengthened its pace attack by replacing slow left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn with paceman Kemar Roach in the only change to the side that lost heavily to South Africa in Sydney.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Lendl Simmons, Jonathan Carter.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka, and Nigel Llong, England.

Third umpire: Billy Bowden, New Zealand. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.

Associated press.