Three-member committee formed to hold talks with disgruntled parties

Kathmandu, Sept 28: In a latest bid to resolve the ongoing political unrest in various districts in the Terai region through political means, the three major political parties today formed a 3-member Committee for the same.

A meeting of big three parties’ leaders held at the Prime Minister’s official residence at Baluwatar in capital city formed the Committee comprising Minister for Forests and Soil Conservation, Mahesh Acharya from the Nepali Congress, Chief Whip of CPN (UML), Agni Kharel and an yet to be decided candidate from the UCPN (Maoist).

The Committee is supposed to bring on board the disgruntled sides and hold talks with the Tharu and Madhesh-centric political parties, who have been waging agitation in various districts across the southern plain in protest of state delineation.

CPN (UML) senior leader, Jhalanath Khanal shared so, emerging from the meeting

Leader Khanal shared, “A Committee has been formed to resolve the political differences with agitating parties.”

Khanal, also former Prime Minister, asserted that the newly promulgated constitution incorporates as much as provisions protecting the rights of all section of population.