KP Oli expands Cabinet, inducts nine more ministers

Kathmandu, October 18. Prime Minister KP Oli has expanded his Cabinet, inducting nine more ministers on Sunday. However, none of the new ministers are from Oli’s own political party, CPN-UML.

The new ministers are from UCPN-Maoist, Forum Loktantrik and Bahujan Samaj Party. They have already taken their oath of office from the President.

UCPN-Maoist’s Top Bahadur Raymajhi has been appointed Deputy Prime Minister and energy minister, another leader of the party Shakti Basnet has been appointed Minister for Home Affairs, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel Minster for Education, Rekha Sharma Minister for General Administration, Agni Sapkota forest minister, Ganeshman Pun supplies minister, and Umesh Yadav irrigation minister.

Similarly, Forum Loktantrik’s Ramjanam Chaudhary and Bahujan Samajwadi’s Biswendra Paswan have also been appointed ministers. They are yet to be given portfolios.

Following the expansion of the Cabinet, Oli’s government now has three Deputy Prime Ministers—Rayamajhi, Bijay Gachchhadar and Kamal Thapa. The council of ministers now has 20 members.