Vote counting for NC open CC members concludes

Kathmandu, March 14: The vote counting of the polls held for the Nepali Congress central members under the open category has come to head with Dr Shekhar Koirala at the top with the highest votes.

The vote counting was held at the NC Central Office, Sanepa for election to the 25 central member posts under the open category. Dr Koirala garnered 1,848 votes while Khum Bahadur Khadka trailed him with 1,846 votes followed by Prakashman Singh (1,795), Kul Bahadur Gurung (1,773), Pradeep Giri (1,725), Pradeep Poudel (1,709), Bal Krishna Khand (1,704), Dhanraj Gurung (1,697), Ramesh Lekhak (1,689), Purna Bahadur Khadka (1,686), Bimalendra Nidhi (1,680), Bal Bahadur KC (1,674), Mahesh Acharya (1,669),and Dr Ram Sharan Mahat (1,611).
Similarly, Bishwo Prakash Sharma garnered 1,619 votes, Sujata Koirala, 1,620, Shanker Bhandari, 1,547, NP Saud, 1,547, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki 1,502, Gopalman Shrestha, 1,499, Chandra Bhandari, 1,492, Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, 1,491, Badri Pandey, 1,485, Dr Narayan Khadka, 1,464, and Dr Minendra Rijal, 1,420 to emerge victorious, said Election Committee Secretary, Pradeep Parajuli.
At the 13th General Convention of the largest party in the Parliament held in the capital city from March 3 to 6 for electing new leadership, 3,148 votes were cast out of a total of 3,161. A total of 90 leaders competed for the open 25 central members’ position in the party. The vote counting results for three officials and 21 inclusive central members have already been publicized.