Prachanda to contest Federal Parliamentary election from Chitwan district


CHITWAN, Sept 8: CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ has announced that he will contest the election of House of Representatives from Chitwan district.

He however didn’t reveal which constituency he will contest from. “I will decide on the constituency after consultation with the party’s local committee,” said Dahal during a press meet organized by the Press Center, Chitwan on Friday.

“In 2008 Constitution Assembly Election, I contested from the origin district of People’s War, Rolpa and the capital Kathmandu. I won in both districts. This time, I will contest from Chitwan,” said the former prime minister, whose home district is Chitwan.

The party’s secretariat meeting held recently in Birgunj decided to give him the ticket from Chitwan in the central election, he informed.

According to laws related to Federal Parliament election, one candidate can only contest from only one constituency.

Dahal had also contested from two constituencies from Siraha and Kathmandu districts in the 2013 Constitution Assembly Election. He got victory in Siraha but lost in Kathmandu.

At the event, he took the time to claim that he had experiences of competing in elections from distinct geographical locations and background, and that he wishes to link up Chitwan to the central politics with the utilization of such experiences.

“I have come to Chitwan collecting a vast experience of the whole country. Chitwan can be changed into a smart city. I have preparing a long-term master plan for my home district,” said Dahal adding, “Infrastructures development in Chitwan has been my top priority. A ringroad bridging Narayani and Rapti rivers is also included in the development plan.”

“I believe my candidacy (likely) would be important for the people here as Chitwan is my political base,” he said, adding that his party would collaborate with any party embracing republic and democracy for the upcoming provincial and federal elections, be it the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and Madhes-based political parties.