Voter turnout 67 percent: EC

voter turnout

KATHMANDU, Dec 7: The Election Commission has said that the voter turnout for Thursday’s second phase of election to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assemblies was more than 67 per cent. The highest turnout was recorded in Gulmi with 71 per cent.

Speaking at a press conference held at the EC Media Centre late Thursday afternoon, Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav said that the voting was held in a peaceful atmosphere baring some sporadic incidents. He also thanked every voter for coming to vote enthusiastically.

Meanwhile, the EC has asked all the political parties to happily accept the result of the vote expressed by the voters through the ballot. The EC has also expressed the commitment that the political parties and the leaders would maintain their existing cordial relations even after the poll result.

After the polls at 5:00 pm today, the ballot papers are being carried to the offices of the chief election officers and district election officers in the district headquarters.

Dr Yadav said that the collected ballots would be kept under the direct supervision, control and management of the chief election officers and district election officers.
The EC said that provisions have been made to keep the ballot boxes in a credible and safe manner with the joint consent of chief election officers and district election officers, security bodies, political parties and candidates.

Meanwhile, the EC has said that voting at Neta Voting Station (A) and (B) of Mathura Lower Secondary School of Sandhikharka Municipality-5 in Arghakhanchi district has been cancelled.

The voting was cancelled after the cadres of a political party torn the ballot papers of Neta Voting Station (B) and vandalized the station stating that the polling officer did not sign the ballot papers. The EC said that re-polling in the station would be held within few days.

With the successful voting under the second round of election, the vote count of the November 26 election has kicked off. In the first round, 32 districts had held the election for the seats of 37 in House of Representatives and 74 in the provincial parliaments. The vote count of the Thursday election begins after completing preparation with the collection of ballot boxes.

The EC thanked everyone from chief election officers to security persons and voters for making the election successful.

It concluded that the government’s security arrangement was smooth. “EC is grateful to political parties, candidates and cadres for their harmony, friendly relations and understanding,” the CEC added.

EC Secretary Begendra Raj Sharma Poudyal observed that the day would be remembered as a day of success and jubilation. RSS