EC unveils result of PR system in Province Assemblies


KATHMANDU, Dec 22: The Election Commission (EC) on Friday announced the total seats obtained by the political parties under the proportional representation (PR) electoral system in all seven provinces from the polls held on November 26 and December 7.

Organizing a press meet, Secretary at the EC and Election Officer of PR election System Begendra Raj Sharma unveiled the result of all 220 seats based on the political parties’ votes.

As per the results, CPN-UML has got 15 seats in Province 1; 7 in Province 2; 16 in Province No 3; 10 in Province No 4 and 13 in Province No 6 while the party got 6 in Province 6 and 8 in Province 7.

Likewise, Nepali Congress has got 13 seats in province 1; 11 in Province 2; 14 in Province 3, 9 in Province 4; 12 in Province 5; 5 in Province 6 and 8 in Province 7, Poudel said.

The CPN (Maoist Center) obtained 5 seats in Province 1; 5 seats in Province 2 and 8 seats in Province 3; 3 in Province 4; 6 in Province 5 and 4 each in Province 6 and Province 7.

The Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has got 2 seats in Province 1; 9 in Province 2 and 2 in Province 5.

The Rastriya Janata Party Nepal has obtained 10 in Province 2 and one each in Province 5 and Province 6.

According to the EC, Rastriya Prajatantra Party has got one seat each in Province 1; Province 3 and Province 6. Likewise, Bibeksheel Sajha Party has secured three seats in Province 3 while Rastriya Janamorcha has got one each in Province 4 and Province 5.

The Naya Shakti Party has got one seat in Province 4 and Sanghiya Democratic National Forum in Province 1. Similarly, Nepal Federal Socialist Party has got one seat in Province 2 and Nepal Peasants and Workers Party acquired one seat in Province 3.

Likewise, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) got one seat in Province 3.

The Provincial assemblies’ elections were held for 37 seats in Province 1; 43 in Province 2; 44 in Province 3; 24 in Province 4; 35 in Province 5; 16 in Province 6 and 21 in province 7. Total seats under the proportional representation were 220 in state assemblies.
According to Election Commission, the CPN-UML has got 75 seats, NC got 72 seats, CPN (Maoist Center) got 35, Forum Nepal got 13 seats and RJP got 12 seats.

Similarly, RPP and Bibeksheel have got three seats each. The Janamorcha has got two seats while Federal Democratic National Forum, Federal Socialist Party, Nepal, NWPP and RPP (D) have one each.

Earlier today, a meeting chaired by the EC Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav had decided to make the result public. RSS