Newly appointed province chiefs and their profiles

province chiefs

KATHMANDU, Jan 17: The Nepali Congress-led government finally on Wednesday appointed the province chiefs all seven provinces. A cabinet meeting held late in the afternoon finalized the chiefs, sharing the seven top posts between itself and Madhes-based parties.

The meeting appointed Govinda Subba as the province chief of Province 1, Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha as chief of Province 2, Anuradha Koirala as chief of Province 3, Babumram Kunwar as chief of Province 4, Uma Kantha Jha as chief of Province 5, Durga Keshar Khanal as chief of Province 6 and Mohan Raj Malla as chief of Province 7.

Govinda Subba hails from Dhankuta. Subba is a former professor of English Tribhuvan University. He started his political journey from ANSFU and later joined Nepali Congress after the Referendum. He also contested for the mayors’ post in Dharan with the party ticket.

Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha is a former secretary at the Ministry of Agriculture and the incumbent secretary of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal. He has also served as the member of National Planning Commission.

Anuradha Koirala is a social activist. She is the founder and director of Maiti Nepal-a non-profit organization, dedicated to helping the victims of sex-trafficking. Koirala previously served as the minister during the royal regime. She is also the winner of CNN Hero Award 2010 and the India’s prestigious fourth highest civilian award Padma Shree in 2017. She is also the winner of Prabal Gorkha Dakshin Bahu Medal (1999), the Courage of Conscience Award from The Peace Abbey Foundation (2006), German UNIFEM Prize (2007) and Queen Sofia Silver Medal Award (2007).

Baburam Kunwar is the former Attorney General under the NC government led by Sushil Koirala. He is also the former chairman of Democratic Lawyers’ Association.

Uma Kanth Jha is the former Health secretary and Health Minister at the Khil Raj Regmi-led government. He is the in-law of Rastriya Janata Party coordinator Mahantha Thakur.

Durga Keshar Khanal is a former member of National Assembly from Nepali Congress. He has served in teaching profession for a long time.

Mohan Raj Malla is a former state minister and parliamentarian of the National Panchyat. Malla started his political career from Rastriya Prajatantra Party. He recently joined NC.