EC distributes certificates to newly elected Province Assembly members

province assembly members

KATHMANDU, Jan 19: The Election Commission (EC) has distributed certificates to the newly elected members of Province Assembly under Proportional Representation category on Friday.

Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav handed over the certificates to the Province Assembly members amid a special function organized at the Election Commission premises.

The EC had announced winners of the elections on Wednesday, 42 days after the completion of the second phase of elections.

CPN-UML had secured 75 seats, trailing behind NC with 72 and the CPN (Maoist Center) with 35 and the remaining seats went to other 13 parties.

A total of 220 members out of 550, including 48 male and 172 female, were elected in the Province Assembly from the Federal and Provincial Elections conducted on November 7 and December 21. 330 members were elected from first-past-the-post system.

69 indigenous, 66 Khas, 12 Tharu, 29 Dalits, 37 Madheshis and 7 Muslim candidates from various 41 political parties were elected from the elections.

Likewise, four from physically disabled, 17 from marginalized and 12 from backward communities are also representing in the Province Assembly, according to the Election Commission.

The EC also said that 37 members were elected from Province 1, 43 from Province 2, 44 from Province 3, 24 from Province 4, 35 from Province 5, 21 from Province 6 and 16 from Province 7.





Photos: Mukunda Kalikote