Preparation over for National Assembly election: EC

National Assembly Election

KATHMANDU, Feb 6: Preparation for the National Assembly election has been completed, said the Election Commission (EC). The NA election is scheduled for February 7.

The voting will start from 10:00 am to con clued at 3:00 pm at the respective province capitals, informed Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav at a press meet in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

According to the Election Commission, voting will take place at the Office of the Chief Returning Officer in six provinces. The office of the chief returning officer has been established at the places where the High Court of each province is located.

The polling stations have been set up at the public places near to the Office of the Chief Returning Officer in Biratnagar (Province 1), Patan, Lalitpur (Province 3), Pokhara (Province 4), Dang (Province 5), Surkhet (Province 6) and Doti (Province 7).

A total of 2056 voters will including 550 province assembly members and 1506 chiefs and deputy chiefs from local levels will cast vote to elect 56 members. However, 24 members have already been elected unopposed.

All candidate of National Assembly election have already been elected unanimously in province no 2.

According to the EC, out of 56 members to be elected for NA, 24 candidates have already been elected.
Six candidates including three women have already been elected unanimously in province no 1. Election is taking place there for two posts.

Similarly, there will be voting for all eight posts in province no 3 while election is taking place for seven posts in province no 4. A candidate towards Disabled and Marginalized category has already been elected unopposed, said EC Spokesperson, Nabaraj Dhakal.

Likewise, voting is taking place for remaining five posts in province no 5 as three women have been unanimously elected while there will be election for all posts in province no 6.

According to EC, election is taking place only for two posts towards Dalit and Marginalized category in province no 7 as other members have already been elected. Now 52 candidates are in the race for 32 posts, according to EC.

As per the constitution, 56 members at the rate of eight members including three women, one dalit and one member from the backward area or minority community from each province, would be elected to the 59-member National Assembly while the President will nominate three members at the recommendation of the government.

According to Yadav, the Province Assembly members will cast their votes at a separate booth while the local level officials at the next booth. There will be four separate ballot papers of green and red colours. The weightage of the Province Assembly members’ vote will be 48 while the same of the local level officials would be 18.

A five-member team from the Bureau of Statistics at the rate of three experts and two administrative assistants for each province have been deputed for counting the votes under the single-transferable electoral system, Aryal said.

The Election Commission has already given orientation training to the representatives of political parties who will be representing in the vote counting.

Election Commission Information Officer Aryal said that the commission planned to make public the entire election results by tomorrow if possible and by February 8 at the most. The Joint Secretaries have been deputed to all the provinces for monitoring the election.

The EC also said that it is preparing to submit the all results of House of Representatives election by February 17.