EC submits report on House of Representative election


KATHMANDU, Feb 14: The Election Commission has submitted a report including final results of the election to the House of Representatives held last November 26 and December 7 to President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Wednesday.

A team of the EC led by its Chief Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav handed over the report comprising the name of the candidates who won in the 165 first-past-the-post seats and 110 proportional representation seats of the House of Representatives at a function held at the Office of the President in Sheetal Niwas.

The submission of the report paves the way for the formation of the new government, likely to be led by the left alliance comprising the CPN-UML and the CPN (Maoist Center), which won a clear majority in the elections to the federal parliament.