NC decries govt recommendation on National Assembly

Gokul Baskota

KATHMANDU, Feb 20: The Nepali Congress (NC) has expressed its serious reservation to the government recommendation on National Assembly (NA) members.

A meeting of the Council of Ministers held on Tuesday recommended Dr Yubraj Khatiwada (Jhapa), Ram Narayan Bidari (Makawanpur) and Dr Bimala Poudel (Morang) as the members of the NA.

NC Spokesperson Bishow Prakash Sharma said that NC has objection over the government’s decision on new recommendation to the NA that was made by calling back the recommendation made by erstwhile Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government.

Sharma also expressed displeasure to the government move saying that such decisions would create more gaps between the government and opposition in coming days.

The Deuba-led government had recommended the names of Chandani Joshi, Gopal Basnet and Krishna Prasad Poudel as the NA members.