Senior-most HoR member Mahantha Thakur takes oath


KATHMANDU, March 4: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has administered oath to the eldest member of House of Representatives, Mahantha Thakur amid a function at the Office of President, Sital Niwas on Monday.

Now, Thakur, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) coordinator, will administer oath to the remaining members of HoR at 4 am in the afternoon.

Earlier, Mahendra Raya Yadav of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) was scheduled to take oath as the senior most member of the federal parliament. But, Yadav declined to administer oath to members of HoR due to his two dates of birth. He had informed the Federal Parliament Secretariat that he would not be able make it to the oath taking ceremony.

Similarly, the eldest member of the National Assembly, Tara Devi Bhatta also took oath from the President Bhandari. Bhatta will administer the oath to the remaining NA member at 5 pm today.

Now, Thakur from RJPN and Bhatta from Nepali Congress will shoulder responsibilities of Speaker and National Assembly Chairperson until elections for both the positions take place.

The election of Speaker is scheduled for March 10.