UML, Maoist Center finalize names of ministers


KATHMANDU, March 16: The ruling parties CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) have prepared the final list of the ministers to be inducted into the cabinet on Friday.

Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli, after a meeting with party leaders, finalized the names of UML leaders.

According to sources, UML Secretary Pradip Gyawali will get Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Secretary Gokarna Bista will handed the responsibility of Labor and Employment and Rabindra Adhikari will head Tourism Ministry.

Likewise, Raghubir Mahaseth will get Physical infrastructure, Sher Bahadur Tamang will get Law and Gajat Bishwokarma will get Youth and Sports Ministry.

Also, Gokul Baskota will be State Minister of Information.

The meeting has also decided to hand Federal Affairs and General Administration Ministry for Lal Babu Pandit. Pandit was given the Ministry for Population and Environment.

Meanwhile, CPN (Maoist Center) have also finalized the name of five ministers.

Bina Magar has been recommended for Minister for Drinking Water. Magar is the daughter-in-law of Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Likewise, Barsa Man Pun will get Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel will be handed Ministry of Education and Shakti Basnet Ministry of Forest.

Also, Chakra Pani Khanal will head the Ministry of Agriculture. Khanal was the Dahal chief political advisor during his stint as Prime Minister.

The new ministers will be sworn-in at 4 pm today.