Traffic office in every province



KATHMANDU, Sept 17: Bearing in mind the growing inflow of vehicles in the country and its subsequent affects on traffic, the Nepal Police has set up traffic offices in all seven provinces.

In doing so, Nepal Police transformed the earlier traffic police offices in the five development regions into provincial traffic offices while established new offices in Chitwan of Province 3 and Tanahun of Province 4.

As of now the traffic police have been involved in devising punitive measures for maintaining disciplined driving of vehicles. The main job of the traffic police is to keep road safe and accident free.

Nepal Police Spokesperson and SSP Shailesh Thapa Chhetri said the expansion of traffic office is being carried out as per the plan of reaching out the traffic police to all areas of the country where road and vehicles are accessible.

Nepal Police established traffic offices in all provinces to implement federalism structured by the Constitution”, he said.

The Nepal Police Headquarters said that the traffic offices were established in all provinces being based on the Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa’s 82-point home administration improvement plan and Inspector General of Police (IGP)’s 10-point priorities for consolidating police organization.

Each province-level traffic office will be under the leadership of Superintendant of Police (SP). RSS