NASA eighth national convention concludes, committing to livestock development

Lalitpur, Nov 18 : The eighth national convention of Nepal Animal Science Association (NASA) has been concluded by issuing the Lalitpur Declaration with the commitments of contributing to the livestock development and pisciculture. 

The convention was held at the Nepal Administrative Staff College, Jawalakhel on November 15-16. A total of 47 working papers on research and development of livestock and pisciculture were presented during the convention’s technical session.

On the occasion, 26 individuals including retired professors, animal scientists, researchers, industrialists and farmers were feted in recognition of their contributions to the development and promotion of livestock and pisciculture through the means of teaching, research works and fisheries.

Minister of State for Agriculture and Livestock Development, Ms Ram Kumari Chaudhary, was the chief guest at the inaugural session of the convention chaired by (outgoing) NASA president Devendra Prasad Yadav.

The convention’s closed session saw the presentations of the organisation’s progress report by (outgoing) general secretary Rudra Prasad Poudel; an economic report of treasurer Ramwali Saha and a report incorporating major points related to the statute amendment by statute amendment committee coordinator Ram Gopal Acharya.

National Farmer’s Commission (NFC) president Chitra Bahadur Shrestha and member Uday Chandra Thakur and secretaries at the Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development, Dr Yubak Dhoj GC and Prakash Mathema and Director General of Department of Livestock Services, Dr Bimal Kumar Nirmal, were present on the occasion.

A plenary of NASA members held on the sidelines of the convention elected a new leadership under the presidency of Dr Shreeram Prasad Neuapne.

The new executive committee comprises Rudra Prasad Poudel and Dr Nirajan Bhattari as vice presidents; Dr Loknath Poudel the general secretary; Meghraj Dhakal and Sujaya Upreti secretaries.

Similarly, Shyam Sundar Yadav is the treasurer on the new committee and Surya Prasad Sharma, Lumanidhi Pandey, Rajendra Prasad Shrestha, Gauri Thapa; and Suvas Kamal Jha are the members.

The Declaration promises to take all possible measures on behalf of the NASA to create self –employment opportunities at home through study and research on livestock rearing and eventually to make the country self-sufficient on livestock production and fisheries.

Newly elected vice president Dr Bhattarai said the new leadership was committed to taking the NASA to a new height, contributing to the further promotion of livestock development and pisciculture.

At the concluding session was held under chair of newly elected president Dr Neupane, NFC president Shrestha wished for a successful tenure of the new leadership, expressing his hope that the Declaration and decisions made by the NASA would be guidelines for the NFC to formulate required polices.  (RSS)