NC to have 141 central committee members

Jaljala. wards

(Bhismaraj Ojha) Kathmandu, Nov 25 : The major opposition Nepali Congress is to have 141 central committee members in line with changed context. 

As per the new provisions guaranteed by the federal constitution as the layers of governments and inclusive mechanisms, the party is amending its statute.

Coordinator of party’s statute amendment draft committee and General Secretary Purna Bahadur Khadka presented the proposed draft of the statute at today’s CC meeting.

The draft will be forwarded to the mahasamiti meeting after its passage from the CC meeting. The party has scheduled its mahasamiti meeting from November 14 to 18. After the grand event endorses the proposed draft of the statute, the party will have the amended charter.

Although the number of the party office bearers and the electoral process remain same, the number of central committee members will be increased. It will be increased as the party has adopted the proportional and inclusive policy as per the changed national charter and the system of governance.

Currently, there are 85 central members. Moreover, the NC has proposed to set up eight layers of party structure.
During a press meet organized at party office today, Spokesperson Bishwo Prakash Sharma said with the amendment of the party statute, the NC will be a modern, fully inclusive and effective political force.

“There will have one third participation of women among the total structure of the party. It has been proposed to increase number of women at various levels,” he said, adding that different committees of the party will have revisions.

The central committee meeting headed by President Sher Bahadur Deuba decided to provide three days to the party leaders and members to study the draft, according to General Secretary at party office, Krishna Prasad Poudel.

The meeting wished for the speedy recovery of ailing leader Ramkrishna Tamrakar and student leader Kundan Raj Kafle. Similarly, it expressed tribute to the concerned Birendra Prasai, Tulsi Ram Budhathoki, and Sit Bhandari.