PHSC okays proposed names to head four different commissions

PSHC, Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee

KATHMANDU, March 5: Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee has approved the name of proposed chairpersons of four constitutional bodies.

A meeting of the PHSC unanimously approved former Secretary Balananda Poudel as the chair of National Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission, former Secretary Shantaraj Subedi as chair of National Inclusive Commission, Dr Bijay Kumar Dutta as chair of the Madhesi Commission and Bishnu Prasad Chaudhary as chair of Tharu Commission on Tuesday, as recommended by the Constitutional Council.

“PHSC approved the names of four proposed chairs after acquiring information about their qualification, interest, thinking, concept and action plan,” said PHSC President Laxman Lal Karna.

The main opposition party Nepali Congress lawmakers, who are in the PHC, were absent in today’s meeting, expressing dissatisfaction over Constitutional Council’s move of recommending the name of office-bearers of the commission in absence of opposition party leaders.