NCP finalizes key positions, Ishwor Pokhrel to lead School Department

NCP Secretariat Meeting


KATHMANDU, Aug 16: The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has concluded its secretariat meeting on Friday.

As decisions regarding key portfolios were not conclusive due to Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli’s absence along with Chairman Dahal, today’s meeting, held at party central headquarters, was crucial in finalizing names and strengthening the party to the satisfaction of all stakeholders.

The much-awaited and debated School of Training Department will now be headed by current Deputy Prime Minister Ishwor Pokharel who is also serving as the Minister of Defense. This department was much sought after by the Dahal faction.

Likewise, former Deputy Prime Minister Narayan Kaji Shrestha has been given the Publicity Department.

Similarly Former Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal has been given the Foreign Affairs Department while Former Prime Minister Jhalanath Khanal will head the Planning and Education Department.

Also, Former Finance Minister Surendra Pandey will head the Finance Department.

The party secretariat has also proposed former Deputy Prime Minister Bam Dev Gautam as the vice-chair. His name will be sent to the standing committee for approval, according to party sources.

The party has decided to add a vice-chair in a bid for equitable distribution of key portfolios. The NCP, during the unification between former CPN (Maoist Center) and CPN-UML a year and a half ago, had only created two chairs and a general secretary. The position of general secretary is currently occupied by Bishnu Paudel.

The decisions come in order to keep the party intact while catering to all the stakeholders positively along with even distribution of work.

According to party spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha, of the total 33 positions, the former CPN-UML was handed over the responsibility of 19 departments while remaining 14 positions were given to former Maoist Center faction.

The only department left to be finalized is the Department for Public Organization. The meeting has also concluded to add a deputy in-charge for all seven states.

Previously, the party had decided only to keep one person-in-charge for the states.

The meeting was attended by PM Oli, this meeting also had former Prime Ministers Madhav Kumar Nepal, Pushpa Kamal Dahal, and Jhalanath Khanal.