Nepal Bar Association elects Karki as its President

KATHMANDU: Hari Kirshna Karki has been elected as the new President of Nepal Bar Association (NBA) on Thursday.

Karki, a candidate from the Progressive Republican group, presided the hot seat by defeating his nearest rival Sher Bahadur KC from the Democratic camp.

Though Surendra Thapa Magar was also in the race from Indigenous nationalities he was overpowered by both of his rivals and failed to make any noticeable impressions.

Similarly, the Sunil Kumar Pokhrel from the Democratic group has been elected as the general secretary.

Along with thatJanak Pandey Tikaram Bhattarai, Anita Gurung, Padam Prasad Baudhik, and Rajendra Saudh have been elected as Vice Chairpersons for eastern, central, western and far-western regions.

While democrat Mohan Ingam became the treasurer of the new committee, Shankar Timila, Ganesh Prasad Adhikari, Sagar Bista Prasanna Das from progressive group and Laxmi Rawal, Sarswati Shrestha and Rajya Laxmi Bajracharya from democratic panel have been elected to the NBA executive committee as members.