Big four parties to form CJ-led government by March 5

KATHMANDU: Four major political parties have decided to form the new government under the leadership of sitting Chief Justice Khil Raj Regmi by March 5.

A meeting of the four major political forces—UCPN (Maoist), Nepali Congress, CPN (UML) and Madhesi Morcha—held today at the Prime Minister’s official residence took a decision to this effect.

After the meeting, leader of Madhesi Morcha Mahantha Thakur said efforts were on to forge consensus by March 5 and form the CJ-led election government within 24 hours.

The parties are at odds regarding the formation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and issue of citizenship distribution in Tarai region.

However, leaders claimed that they would strike a package deal for the CJ-led government formation to end the deadlock.