Rajendra Aryal elected chairman of Press Chautari Nepal

KATHMANDU: With wide margin of 212 votes, Rajendra Aryal was elected the chairman of Press Chautari Nepal by defeating a minnow competitor Bishnu Rijal. Rijal was the pick of CPN (UML) leader Madhav Kumar Nepal in the post of Chautari’s chairman in the seventh general convention.

Press Chautari is an organization of journalists aligned to CPN (UML).

A total of 477 had casted their votes and Aryal secured 344 votes while Rijal got just 132 votes.

Durga Prasad Sharma was elected the senior vice-chairman by securing 193 votes while Shanti Gurung was elected the vice-chairperson from the woman quota.

Similarly, Kushal Babu Basnet (Eastern), Upendra KC (Central), Mukesh Pokhrel (Western), Surendra Kafle (Midwestern) and Rajendra Bista (Far-Western) were elected vice-chairs from five development regions.

Likewise, Ganesh Pandey, Tika Bista, Rajesh Rai, Narendra Saud and Ram Kumar Elan were elected secretaries.

Bishwomani Subedi was elected the treasurer of the Chautari.