Maoist parties form taskforce for working unity

Kathmandu, June 21. Five communist parties including UCPN (Maoist) and CPN-Maoist have started preparations to forge working alliance amongst themselves.

A meeting of the five parties which took place at UCPN (M) headquarters in Perisdanda on Saturday decided to form a committee to come up with the working guideline s for the formation of such alliance.

The committee comprises UCPN (M) General Secretary Krishna Bahadur Mahara, CPN-Maoist Secretary Dev Gurung, Dev Sharan Yadav of Matrika Yadav-led Maoist party, Tika Bikram Hamal of Revolutionary Communist Party and Ram Singh of CPN-Unified.

“The committee will submit a report on working alliance based on parties’ policies, ideology and guideline s on June 26,” said Gurung.

The working alliance is primarily aimed at intensifying street protests and pressurising the government for the formation of twin commissions on Truth and Reconciliation and Inquiry on Disappearances. The alliance will also exert pressure on constitution drafting.

Gurung added that the parties will later make efforts for unification.